Dedication of the Basilica of St. John Lateran

Nov 09

Cathedral of the Diocese of Rome

Although most Catholics believe the Basilica of St. Peter’s to be the main church of the Pope, it is not: St. John Lateran, also called the Church of Holy Savior or the Church of St. John the Baptist, is the Cathedral of the Diocese of Rome, or the Pope’s church.

“The Lateran” was built on land that the Emperor Constantine received from the wealthy and virtuous Lateran family.

He, in turn, gave the land to the Church, who constructed the first basilica there in the early fourth century.

Read More